[Parent] [FAQ] [Site History] [PDF] [PostScript] [PDF] [PostScript]

The Work

This is an incomplete transcription of Johann Jakob Walther's collection of pieces for solo violin and basso continuo named Hortulus Chelicus. The collection consists of 28 different pieces ranging from suites to program music. The source that I have used is a facsimile of the print from 1688.

This Edition

I have always tried to be as close to the original as possible. Editorial changes have been put above the staffs, or within parenthesis. Slashed figures in the continuo have been replaced with their flat/natural or sharp equivalents. All accidentals and clefs have been converted to modern standard.

The Files

Midi files
Johan Tufvesson tuben@lysator.liu.se: Modified , accesses.